updated 5:33 PM CEST, Jul 5, 2022

U.S. expat advocacy to be focus of AARO Zoom meeting Thursday

How U.S. expats can better make their voices heard in Washington will be the subject of a Zoom meeting scheduled for this Thursday evening (for those living in Europe), sponsored by the Paris-based Association of Americans Resident Overseas.

Participants in the Zoom event will, a notice on the AARO website says, hear how best to ensure their voices, as U.S. citizens living overseas, are heard, including how to contact their members of Congress, how to express their concerns, and why they should urge their elected representatives to join the Americans Abroad Caucus, a group of around 30 U.S. lawmakers who acknowledge the need for the expat citizen's voice to be better heard in Washington. 

Speakers during the meeting will include Fred Einbinder, Chair of AARO's Advocacy Committee, and Kathleen de Carbuccia, former president and chair of AARO's Citizenship Committee.

The Zoom MeetUp is set to begin at 5:30pm CEST (4:30pm BST, 11:30 EDT) and run for about an hour, according to AARO. Questions may be sent in advance to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

To read more about the MeetUp, and to register to participate, click here.

AARO was founded in 1973 by Phyllis Michaux and a group of other expat Americans who were concerned about the way they thought (even then) that U.S. government treated its citizens abroad. Today it's an international, non-profit, non-partisan, volunteer-run association with members in 46 countries. It researches issues that significantly affect the lives of overseas Americans and endeavors to keep its members informed of those issues, while also lobbying on behalf of expatriate causes, such as taxation, citizenship issues, Social Security and Medicare.